Home › Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions

New Profile Page on the App

​You may notice a new profile page on the app, that looks something like this: From here, you can tap on: -Get A-List, to easily upgrade to A-List ​-Boost, to purchase Boosts or use Boosts you&...

Topics - New Feature!

Are you passionate about travel, being vegan, or your beloved pet chihuahua? Great news! OkCupid has topics, where you can choose to connect with others based on the things that matter to you the most...

Is OkCupid really free?

Yes! Basic accounts on OkCupid are entirely free, forever. With a basic account, you can see all of your potential matches, send and receive likes (we’ll even let you know if you like each ot...

What Makes OkCupid different?

  We know you’re more than just a selfie. Our full, detailed profiles let you show who you are, and what matters to you. With 50 profile prompts and thousands of match questions, we...

How do I see who likes me?

If you and another member like each other, we always let you both know, for free. We'll do this by sending you notifications and showing you those people at the top of your Who You Like page, i...

Do I have to Like before messaging?

Yes, you do have to Like someone to send them a message. We want conversations to be only between people who are interested in each other, so you have to Like someone before messaging them. Plea...

How are unmatching and blocking different?

Unmatching and blocking are the same thing. Blocking or unmatching someone will prevent them from seeing your profile -- if they try to view your profile after you block/unmatch them, it will look ...

What are the green and blue dots?

A green dot shows that someone is currently online. A blue dot shows that a notification (such as a received message) is new since you last checked. Please note that our databases sometimes take...

How do I hide a conversation?

We automatically archive and hide inactive conversations by moving them to the Old Conversations section after 90 days of inactivity. Once you have a conversation with someone, we don't show th...

Can I see when someone was last online?

It’s 2018, pretty much everyone’s online all the time! In DoubleTake and Discovery you’ll automatically only see people who have been online recently. If you’d prefer to se...

What if I don't want to post a photo?

A photo of you is required to send and receive messages on OkCupid. If you’d prefer your photo not be visible to everyone, you may want to upgrade to Incognito Mode.

What are pronouns?

Pronouns have been added to profiles so daters can identify in the way they feel most comfortable. Therefore, LGBTQ+ OkCupid members can either select he/him, she/her, or they/them, or they can type i...

What is the lightning bolt icon?

The lightning bolt icon on OkCupid relates to Boosting. If you see a match highlighted with a lightning bolt icon, that means they Liked you while you were running a Boost. You can read more about ...