You will only see and be seen by members who are the age/ location/ gender/ orientation you are looking for, and whose parameters also describe you.
This means that no one outside of your age range/ distance range will ever see you.
If your profile is set as gay or bisexual, you can opt to not see or be seen by straight users. This can be turned on in your settings, while setting your orientation.
Hiding and Blocking Users
If you don’t want a particular person appearing in your Match Search, DoubleTake, front page and sidebar matches, you can hide them. Hiding is reciprocal, and will also stop you from appearing in all of the same areas for the person you hid. If you want to also prevent them from messaging you, you can block them. You can read more about hiding and blocking OkCupid members here.
Profiles are visible only to logged-in OkCupid members
In order to view OkCupid profiles, you must be a logged-in OkCupid member.
Until August 2017, OkCupid profiles may have been indexed by search engines, depending on privacy settings. This is no longer the case. New profile content will not be indexed by search engines (including Google), and as search engines update their results, content that was indexed before this change will fall out of their results. We do not have control over when that content is removed from their results.
We no longer allow members to do direct searches by name to find someone else. Members can find each other organically through Match Search and DoubleTake if they meet each other's criteria. Removing search prevents people from getting around our Mutual Fit options, hiding, etc.
We use HTTPS throughout the site for your safety.
Information We Collect
Information Available To Others
Other OkCupid members can see what you put in your profile: your photos, your essays, your details, your public questions, your first name, and what you’re looking for.
Other users never get to see your email address, billing info, or any other hidden information.
We do not display your A-list or Incognito status to anyone -- your profile will appear just like anyone else's. If you are Incognito, no one will be able to see your profile at all unless you have liked or messaged them, but once your profile is visible to them, it'll appear normal.
The “Online Now” indicator
Your online now or last online status is visible in some cases. We do not currently have a way to remove or hide this.
Some actions you do on the site may appear on potential matches’ Welcome page under “Recent Activity.”
• Upload a photo
• Update your status (like changing from ’single’ to ’seeing someone’)
• Update your profile essays
• Answer a match question publicly
As a leader in online dating, OkCupid recommends that its members follow a few basic tips while dating—both online and offline. Take a few minutes to read the following safety tips to keep your dating experience enjoyable and secure.
Read more on our Safety Tips page.
Incognito will hide your account to everyone on and off OkCupid unless you specifically like them or send them a message. You can read more here.