Hiding and BlockingHiding
Hiding has been replaced by Passing. You can read more about Passing here.
Previously hidden members will stay hidden. If you have any previously hidden members, you can view a list of those people (and unhide them) on the Privacy Settings page on the desktop website or the app.
If you hid a member, you'll never be shown each other on the site (Match Search results, DoubleTake, front page suggestions, etc) but if they already have a link to your profile, they will be able to go directly to your profile with that link.
Blocking someone will prevent them from seeing your profile -- if they try to view your profile after you block them, it will look just like you deleted your OkCupid account. If you've had a conversation with them, blocking will also remove the conversation from their Conversations page. We do not otherwise let people know that you have blocked them. On the website you can block people from their profiles by clicking the three dots icon at the top of the page, or within the conversation window. You can view your list of blocked members on the privacy settings page (direct link here).
On the app, you can block people by tapping the three dots icon at the top of their profile, or by tapping on the icon on the top right when viewing a received message to see a block button pop up. You can view your blocked users on the app by going to settings (look for the gear icon at the top of your profile), then tapping on Privacy, then on Blocked users.
We also have a new feature called Incognito Mode that might interest you. Incognito Mode is a separate service from A-List that allows your profile to remain invisible to all users unless your Like them or send them a message.
Please know that if someone is harassing you or seems suspicious, the best thing to do is to report them to our moderation team so we can remove them from the site entirely. Our hide and block settings are for people you just don't want to see any more, not people who are violating our site's Terms of Service.
To report someone on the web, click the 'report' button by clicking the three dots under the message button on their profile page.
On the app, while looking at a user's profile, you can click on the icon in the upper right corner, and then select Report.
If you're on a mobile browser, you'll have to click through to the full site to report.
Once you report from a profile, it will automatically be added to our moderation queue for review.
You can also tell us about the account via our feedback form and we'll be happy to look into the account further.
We do not let people know that they have been reported or who reported them- that information is always kept anonymous.